What's news

ENEWS [0322] : Keep it short!


MC Casey Bennetto, from the Premier in 2021 at Spring Bay Mill.

‘Keep it short,’ as our MC Casey Bennetto says. Anyone in Australia can submit a film for the Very Short Film Festival. Prizes offered in two categories Junior (21 years and under) and Open (22 and over). Submit a short 2-5min film which must include our signature theme ‘SPRING’ – how you do that is entirely up to you. Read more… 

Spring Bay Mill, Tasmania.

Buy your tickets! We are looking forward to the Premier on Friday 20 May 2022, 5.30pm at Spring Bay Mill in Tasmania. Showcasing new films and announcing the winners, it’s a fun night out at the Mill and overnight accommodation is available. Book your tickets online here.

Wide Angle Tasmania Sponsorship. Live in Tassie and need filming equipment? The team at Wide Angle Tasmania are offering sponsorships valued at $500 for gear hire to get you underway. If you are interested in finding out more, email us.

Gear hire from Wide Angle Tas.


Olivia Buonopane says, ‘My advice to anyone entering this year’s Very Short Film Festival is to dig deep into your story and be passionate about your concept and ideas, meet as many filmmakers as you can and most importantly have fun with the production process of making your film and the wonderful experience of the Very Short Film Festival.’ Ainsley Halbmeijer says, ‘Cheesy as it is, back yourself – your work is valuable and important, and if you believe in it then people will believe in you.’ Eva Justine Torkkola says, ‘10,000% go for it! If you have a short film already, or are currently making a film that speaks to you and the festival theme, then definitely enter. I not only had a great time, and won some prize money unexpectedly which I am putting towards my first camera, but I also made some amazing friendships with brilliant creatives that I’m still working with today. And let’s be honest, who wouldn’t want to a trip to incredible Tasmania? I’m inclined to go back this year if I can just because it was such a fabulous time. So, best of luck to everyone submitting a film. Got to be in it to win it! 

Olivia Buonopane


Ainsley Halbmeijer

Eva Justine Torkkola