What's news

Announcing the 2024 Very Short Film Festival finalists 🎉

Finalists of the Very Short Film Festival 2024

We are thrilled to announce the finalists for this year’s Very Short Film Festival! It has been another year of outstanding submissions, and selecting these finalists was no small feat for our judges. Congratulations again to all who entered.

🥁 Drumroll, please…

Meet the Finalists:

Open Category Finalists (listed alphabetically):

  • Ella Demarchi: Remember Me
  • Grace Quealy: The Something
  • Jane Hamilton-Foster: Loop
  • Kaelyn Ward: Uprooted
  • Kea Gargiulo: Shkëndijë
  • Kylie Skinner: Formal Take Two
  • Tak & Tomoko Koyama: Steamed Egg Custards

Junior Category Finalists (listed alphabetically):

  • Adi Bocman: Amor Fati
  • Aquinnah McKendrick, Daisy Belle Adam, Billie Chatto: Fourteen
  • Hayden Best: Kinetic Connection
  • Jake McCormack: Change – A True Story
  • Stella & Ruby Kurzel: JACHELT


People’s Choice Awards!

With such a high calibre of films this year, we are excited to continue the People’s Choice Awards. This is your opportunity to vote for your favourite films and further celebrate the incredible talent of Australian filmmakers. Stay tuned for more details on when voting goes live!

In addition to the finalists listed above, the following filmmakers have been nominated for the People’s Choice Awards:

People’s Choice Pick: Open category

Abba Abbouchi for “Who is Bob?,” Andrew Pavli for “Bring Back the Office Tea Lady,” Frank Leggett for “The Tunnel,” Gerard Lambkin for “Waiting For The Man,” Grace McLean for “A Spark,” Lana Digman for “CATCH UP,” Lily Lunder & Koko Crozier for “Stonewall,” Megan Kenna for “Sparky,” Michael De Lange for “The Poet’s Choice,” Nima Baghbani for “Olympic Champion,” Rena Li for “Pee Shy,” Tashi Higgins for “Aevum,” and Tom Pasley for “Polystyrene Junkie.”

People’s Choice Pick: Junior Category

Alisha Mtungwazi for “Kusimiddzira Chiedza,” Brayden O’Connor & James Cawley for “Insanitizer,” Daniel Schafer & Jake Bell for “Cicadas,” Dylan Burrows for “Mania,” Ella Hasdell for “17,” Freya Rubeli for “Just a Kiss,” Indianna Thompson & Ruby Harris for “The Hunt,” Matthew Nottle for “Forsaken,” Mark Zanosov for “Still There?,” and ShopFront Films for “George.”⁠

Join us at the State Cinema on Friday, 31 May for the premiere screening of our finalists’ films. This event is open to all, and if you’re in Tasmania, it’s a special opportunity to enjoy the festivities and celebrate with fellow filmmakers.

We extend our heartfelt thanks to all the filmmakers who shared their films with us. Once again, congratulations from everyone on the Very Short Film Festival Team and our judges.